Extraordinary Council Meeting Minutes

25 June 2020


   MINUTES OF Central HAwkes Bay District Council
Extraordinary Council Meeting
Council Chamber, 28-32 Ruataniwha Street, Waipawa

and via audiovisual link Zoom

Streamed live to the public via facebook
Thursday, 25 June 2020 AT 3:00pm



PRESENT:              Mayor Alex Walker

Deputy Mayor Kelly Annand

Cr Gerard Minehan

Cr Tim Aitken

Cr Jerry Greer

Cr Kate Taylor

Cr Brent Muggeridge


IN ATTENDANCE: Monique Davidson (Chief Executive Officer)

                                 Brent Chamberlain (Chief Financial Officer)

                                 Bridget Gibson (Governance Support Officer)


1            Apologies


Resolved:  20.87

Moved:       Cr Kate Taylor

Seconded:  Cr Jerry Greer

That the apologies for absence from Cr Tim Chote, Cr Exham Wichman, Cr Brent Muggeridge and Kaiarahi Matua Roger Maaka be accepted.



2            Declarations of Conflicts of Interest


3            Standing Orders

Resolved:  20.88

Moved:       Cr Jerry Greer

Seconded:  Cr Gerard Minehan

THAT the following standing orders are suspended for the duration of the meeting:

·     21.2 Time limits on speakers

·     21.5 Members may speak only once

·     21.6 Limits on number of speakers

THAT 22.4 Option C under section 22 General procedures for speaking and moving motions be used for the meeting.      


4            Report Section

4.1         Hawke’s Bay Disaster Relief Trust - Council Controlled Organisation Exemption


The purpose of this report is to obtain a decision from the Council to exempt the Hawke’s Bay Disaster Relief Trust from the requirements imposed on Council Controlled Organisations (CCO) under the Local Government Act 2002 (LGA).

Resolved:  20.89

Moved:       Deputy Mayor Kelly Annand

Seconded:  Cr Tim Aitken

That having considered all matters raised in the report:

a)   That the report of the Chief Financial Officer titled “Hawke’s Bay Disaster Relief Trust - Council Controlled Organisation Exemption” dated 25th June 2020 be received.

b)   That, as provided for in sections 6 and 7 of the Local Government Act 2002, the Council grants the Hawke’s Bay Disaster Relief Trust an exemption from being a Council Controlled Organisation, as defined by section 6 of the local Government Act 2002 for a period of three years to 30 June 2023.

c)   With the reasons for this decision being the level and cost of reporting required of a CCO under the LGA is disproportionate to the size, type and the breadth of operations the Trust undertakes and this would not contribute to the effective and efficient provision of support to individuals and the community in an emergency.



5            Public Excluded Business  


Councillor Brent Muggeridge joined the meeting preceding item 6.

6            Date of Next Meeting

Resolved:  20.90

Moved:       Cr Brent Muggeridge

Seconded:  Cr Jerry Greer

That the next meeting of the Central Hawke's Bay District Council be held on 30 July 2020.



7            Time of Closure

The Meeting closed at 3:11 pm.

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Central Hawke’s Bay District Council held on 30 July 2020.