Council Meeting Minutes                                                                                                     9 May 2019

   MINUTES OF Central Hawkes Bay District Council
HELD AT THE CHB Municipal Theatre, Kenilworth Street, Waipawa
ON Thursday, 9 May 2019 AT 9.00am


PRESENT:              Mayor Alex Walker

Cr Ian Sharp (Deputy Mayor)

Cr Shelley Burne-Field

Cr Kelly Annand

Cr Tim Aitken

Cr Tim Chote

Cr Gerard Minehan

Cr Brent Muggeridge

Cr David Tennent

Dr Roger Maaka


Monique Davidson (Chief Executive)

                                 Joshua Lloyd (Group Manager, Community Infrastructure and Development)

Bronda Smith (Group Manager, Corporate Support and Services)

Doug Tate (Group Manager, Customer and Community Partnerships)

Nicola Bousfield (People and Capability Manager)

Darren De Klerk (3 Waters Programme Manager)

Leigh Collecutt (Governance and Support Officer)


1            Prayer

Mayor Walker opened the meeting with a prayer

2            Apologies

Cr Tim Chote leave of absence granted as per Council meeting 10th April.

3            Declarations of Conflicts of Interest

No conflicts of interest were declared.

4            Standing Orders

Resolved:  19.21

Moved:       Cr Ian Sharp

Seconded:  Cr Brent Muggeridge

THAT the following standing orders are suspended for the later parts of the meeting after the submissions hearing is complete:

20.2 Time limits on speakers

20.5 Members may speak only once

20.6 Limits on number of speakers

And that Option C under section 21 General procedures for speaking and moving motions be used for the meeting.

Standing orders are recommended to be suspended to enable members to engage in discussion in a free and frank manner.



5            Confirmation of Minutes

Resolved:  19.22

Moved:       Cr Kelly Annand

Seconded:  Cr Tim Aitken

That the minutes of the Ordinary Council Meeting held on 10 April 2019 as circulated, be confirmed as true and correct.





6            Reports from Committees


7            Report Section

7.1         Submissions on the Annual Plan 2019-2020


The purpose of this report is to present to Council submissions received on the Annual Plan 2019-2020 for their consideration.



a)   That the submissions on the Annual Plan Parts 1 to 4 be received and

b)   That Council resolves to accept late submissions and further late submissions for consideration



Submission 59 – Clint Deckard


Submission 54 - Arthur Rowlands


Submission 33 - Angus Mabin

A copy of Mr Mabin’s further comments was provided.


Submission 105 -  Lon Anderson

A copy of Mr Anderson’s further comments was provided.


Submission 49 – Robby Smith


Submission 47 – CHB Forest and Bird – Louise Phillips


Meeting adjourned for morning tea at 9.49am

Meeting reconvened at 10.10am


Submission 55 - Louise Phillips


Submission 79 – Sharleen Baird


Submission 103 – Gren Christie


Submission 82 - Charles Nairn


Submission 86 -  Harold Petherick


Submission 84 – John Jukes


Submission 67 – Murray Howarth


Meeting adjourned due to gaps in hearing schedule at 10.52am

Meeting reconvened at 11.24am


Submission 101 -  Trevor Le Lievre


Submission 113 – Rei Sciascia

A handout was provided.


Submission 117 – Peter Kittow


Submission 118 – Fred Nichol


Submission 119 - Bruce Stephenson



Submission hearing was ahead of time and moved to the notice of motion – item number 7.2



Meeting adjourned for lunch at 12.15pm

Meeting reconvened at 1.00pm



Submission 42 – Robin Horder


Submission 15 – Sir Graeme Avery

Marcus Agnew was in attendance with Sir Graeme.  Sir Graeme delivered a Powerpoint presentation to support his submission.

Submission 100 – Biodiversity Hawke’s Bay – Charles Daugherty and Sam Jackman

A powerpoint presentation was delivered in support of the submission.


Submission 80 – Murray Cammock

Mr Cammock provided a demonstration of the principles of base aggregates and soil and the impact that this could have on water storage and filtration.

Further comments were distributed.


Submission 88 – Malcolm Gourlie


Submission 61 – Forest and Bird NZ – Tom Kay


Submission 6 – Mike Smith


Submission 93 - Rebecca Baker


Further Late submission – not processed or numbered – Jenny Nelson-Smith


Further Late submission – not processed or numbered – Carol Slingsby




7.2         Notice of Motion - Implementation of Dust Supression Policy


In accordance with Standing Order 26, the Chief Executive has received a Notice of Motion from Councillor Burne-Field, seconded by Councillor Minehan, with the request that the Notice of Motion be placed on the agenda for the 9 May 2019 Council meeting.

The purpose of report is to provide Councillor Burne-Field and Councillor Minehan an opportunity to speak to the Notice of Motion and for Council to consider appropriate courses of action.



Resolved:  19.23

Moved:       Cr Shelley Burne-Field

Seconded:  Cr Gerard Minehan

That having considered all matters raised in the report:

a)         That Council requests that the Chief Executive prepare a report to be considered as part of Annual Plan deliberations on the 23 May 2019 on the funding and finance options to prioritise the implementation of the Dust Suppression Policy;

b)         And further that the report include options and recommendations on allocation from the Rural Reserve Fund, reprioritisation of existing transport investment, and options for investment via the general rate.




Cr Burne-Field spoke to the Notice of Motion.


Cr Minehan spoke in support of the motion and about the dissatisfaction in the district about the condition of rural roads.  Cr Minehan highlighted that through the Project Thrive process, the community was clear that they wanted Council to bring a new approach to dust suppression issues.


Mayor Walker agreed that getting more information from staff was a good idea but did have some reservations about how much funding could be allocated to dust suppression at this moment in time.

Mayor Walker indicated that this would likely need to inform the next Long Term Plan discussion.




8            Chief Executive Report



9            Public Excluded Business



Resolved:  19.24

Moved:       Cr Ian Sharp

Seconded:  Cr David Tennent

That the public be excluded from the following parts of the proceedings of this meeting.

The general subject matter of each matter to be considered while the public is excluded, the reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter, and the specific grounds under section 48 of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 for the passing of this resolution are as follows:

General subject of each matter to be considered

Reason for passing this resolution in relation to each matter

Ground(s) under section 48 for the passing of this resolution

9.1 - Supplier Recommendation : Waipawa Trunk Sewer Main Renewal

s7(2)(i) - the withholding of the information is necessary to enable Council to carry on, without prejudice or disadvantage, negotiations (including commercial and industrial negotiations)

s48(1)(a)(i) - the public conduct of the relevant part of the proceedings of the meeting would be likely to result in the disclosure of information for which good reason for withholding would exist under section 6 or section 7





Resolved:  19.25

Moved:       Cr David Tennent

Seconded:  Cr Tim Aitken

That Council moves out of Closed Council into Open Council



10          Date of Next Meeting

Resolved:  19.26

Moved:       Cr Shelley Burne-Field

Seconded:  Cr Brent Muggeridge

THAT the next meeting of the Central Hawke's Bay District Council be held on 23 May 2019.


11          Time of Closure

The Meeting closed at 2.50pm.


The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Council Meeting held on 23 May 2019.